Piano Keys


IMG_1464 copy.jpg

Amanda is an active solo and collaborative pianist, clinician, as well as adjudicator for numerous festivals and competitions.  Joining the faculty of Southwestern Assemblies of God University (SAGU) in 2006, she is currently serving at the institution as Professor of Piano, Director of Piano Studies, as well as faculty adviser of SAGU Collegiate Chapter of Music Teachers National Association (MTNA), which was the recipient of 2013 MTNA Benjamin Whitten Collegiate Chapter of the Year.  Amanda is a nationally certified teacher of music in piano granted by MTNA.  

She serves as the Music Director of Waxahachie Symphony Association.  She is also the founder of Aspirio Piano Academy.  Previously, she was the Vice President of Arlington Music Teachers Association, the Chair of Texas Music Teachers Association Collegiate Chapters of MTNA (2014 - 2017) and served on the editorial board of Texas Music Teachers (2016 - 2017).  Amanda had presented at MTNA National Conferences, Texas Music Teachers Association State Convention, as well as chaired the 2014 - 2016 Texas Music Teachers Association Collegiate Conferences.   

Dr. Lee-Hing received her Doctor of Musical Arts Degree, Master of Music Degree and Bachelor's of Music Degree in Piano Performance from West Virginia University (WVU).  She graduated with a Diploma of Music from UCSI University in Malaysia.  She also earned her Licentiate and Associate diplomas from Trinity College of Music, London, as well as Diploma in Piano from The Associated Board of Royal Schools of Music, London. 


Among some of her awards include the WVU Performance Grant Award and Outstanding Senior Award.  She was named the WVU Young Artist Concerto Competition Winner, as well as the alternate winner in 2000 West Virginia Music Teachers National Association Young Artist Performance Competition.  She was granted the Music Teachers National Association Student Achievement Recognition Award and the International Peace Scholarship by the Philanthropical Educational Organization Foundation (Des Moines, Iowa).  In 2003, Amanda was named West Virginia University Chancellor's Scholar and Southern Regional Education Board Doctoral Scholar (a fellowship program supported by The Pew Charitable Trusts and the Ford Foundation).  In addition, she was selected as winner of 2007 Piano Texas International Academy and Festival Teachers Concerto Competition (in collaboration with Van Cliburn Foundation and Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra).  


Her teachers include Dr. James Miltenberger, Dr. Connie Arrau-Sturm, Loo Bang Hean, Veronica Leong, and Josephine Lim.  Amanda has played in masterclasses of renowned pedagogues and artists such as Nelita True, Jose Feghali, Jerome Lowenthal, Tamás Ungár, Andrea Bonatta, John Owings, Vladimir Shakin, Enrico Elisi, Martin Berkofsky, Tristan Lauber, etc.  She has also performed in numerous public events and venues including West Virginia Public Theatre musical performances, Make-A-Wish Foundation of Northern West Virginia fundraising event, Young Artists Recital of the 2004 Las Vegas Summer Music Festival, Teacher Recitals of the 2006 & 2007 Piano Texas International Academy and Festival, 2010 South-East Asia Tour (The Goethe-Institut of Thai-German Cultural Foundation in Thailand, UCSI University, Calvary Convention Centre, and Syuen Hotel Grand Ballroom in Malaysia), Steinway Hall - Dallas, Steinway Hall - Fort Worth, The Potter's House in Dallas as offertory pianist and choir accompanist, as well as soloist with WVU Symphony Orchestra, WVU Chamber Winds, SAGU Wind Ensemble, SAGU Concert Band, Waxahachie Area Concert Band, and the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra.  She is also the author of "David Amram's Sonata for Piano: A Merger of Contemporary Classical and Jazz Styles."


Dr. Lee-Hing had been on the faculties of Washington and Jefferson College (Pennsylvania), Glenville State College (West Virginia), and WVU Community Music Program.  Her students have achieved great success, earning top prizes in local, state and national competitions.  Her collegiate students were chosen to present their research in both state and national music conferences.